Donuts!

on

 

The true inspiration for these pieces is obscure and probably comes from my fascination with all things inedible. As a sufferer from celiac disease and various other food allergies. The mystery of these bits of circular dough, fried to a crisp and topped with glossy pink frosting, has haunted me for years. Why do they taste so good? What is it about them that has all the students around me constantly purchasing them from local bakeries?  These questions often weigh in the subconscious of my mind, influencing many pieces in one way or another.

The two above are both illustrations created on heavy mixed-media paper, with copic markers and micron pens. The bright orange and blue offset the pink and brought a lighthearted feel to the pieces, despite the expressions on the girls’ faces. They present an overall feeling of being puzzled and apprehensive.

The pieces went far beyond my comfort zone, as my illustrations tend to be more strictly pen and ink, and my more surrealistic ideas are saved for paintings, however it was fun to branch out and explore other methods of illustration. I like that both tell a story, or could otherwise be used as inspiration for one.

Stay tuned for future falling donuts!

Leave a comment